Open Season
Ah, hunting season. To some men this is greater than Christmas and a birthday party all rolled into one. Now, don't get me wrong here. My husband has always been an avid hunter and I as well have been convinced to get my tags a few times. It isn't all bad and I encourage Ron to go and join the men out south in a male bonding experience.
But those people who come from the city and just think that they can do whatever, where ever really get on my nerves. City folk, on a whole, are not evil people but when it comes to hunting season, they seem to really not quite get "it". Now by "it" I mean courtesy and precaution. Don't you know that when you see an animal, you just shoot an animal?
Case in point - The last few days a random service truck has sat right close to our house (about 50 yards). I am not quite sure what he is doing but he has sat there from about 4:30 until dark. I assume he is scoping the field. We have a field full of cows beside the house and this is where he is parked. The neighbours across the road have not given him permission to hunt, so what is he going to do when he sees something. That something could possibly be a cow.
The pick ups zoom up and down our dead end road all day and even shortly after nightfall. They often meet at the bottom and race up, turn around and come back meeting more pick ups.
The cattle lease has a portion that is not completely fenced and is accessed by a cattle gate. The sign of vehicles into that area is unbelievable, although 3 people have phoned to ask permission to hunt there, but this looks like a couple more than 3 vehicles.
What do you think would happen if I parked in a driveway in the city and just sat there for a while, then I would just wander into their backyard just to check things out.
Last year we had people killing moose and wounding elk around our house and just leaving them. People cut fences and leave gates open.
I think their mother's forgot to teach them to respect other people's property. But then isn't all farm land just available for access by all?
By the way, does any one want to buy any cows? The price is really cheap right now. Maybe 90 cents a pound or maybe even less. Sure is worthwhile being a cattle producer. What are you paying for a pound of hamburger? Think about it next time you buy beef. Who is making all that money?